Solitude

20170201_072301.jpg

Not so long ago I was thrilled by the idea of being completely alone. What would be to be in complete solitude for a couple of days, months, years?

So I decide to live abroad for a while and chance took me to Boston.

People had told me that winter was hard. And although I ‘ve seen the snow in the past, I’ve never experienced “living” in a place where it snowed and was “cold” most of the time.

I have to admit my first months were very lonely and literally “cold”, as I arrived in winter. I recall on one opportunity I didn’t talk to anyone for 3 days in a row and it was… interesting.

And I think how media and society stimulate so much interaction. Advertisements mostly focus on encouraging us to be surrounded by people, how to be “cool”,  and how to be accepted and interact in society.  And I agree it’s important. In the end, we are social animals. But I am concerned on how solitude is greatly undervalued. As if deciding to be alone was something “wrong”.

I just wish people could see the benefits of getting away for a while, even if it’s for a day or two and have no contact at all. It can be scary at first, but it’s so fulfilling once you learn to be with yourself, you won’t regret it.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

